THE CLASSICAL ASSOCIATION OF VIRGINIA SPRING MEETING MAY 3, 2014

The College of William and Mary Miller Hall, Brinkley South

The meeting was called to order at 10:13 by Margaret Hicks who expressed gratitude for being at her *alma mater* with her professors. This is the year of her retirement. The College of William & Mary provided a lovely venue with two rooms. Special thanks were offered to Professor John Donohue; Joyce Holmes, administrative secretary; and the director of William & Mary facilities name

.

Treasurer's Report

The meeting began with the Treasurer's report, which was presented by Liane Houghtalin as Max Meador is in rehabilitation from surgery. For the period ending May 2, 2014 assets are as follow:

General Fund	\$1205.12
(dues, luncheons, contributions)	
Tournament Fund	\$2213.80
A. Lloyd Fund	\$1221.99
Professional Development Fund	\$1266.00
Reserve Fund	\$1646.49

The total cash flow is \$7553.40. The treasury CD \$3818.08 and the Angela Lloyd CD \$3619.15 for a total of \$7437.23.

Professional Development Committee

Amy Petersen, chair, reported on the Professional Development fund. The auction last year raised over \$600 last year. Bids for this year's auction were accepted through lunch. Grant applications are available on the website and in the newsletter. The deadline for application is August 31. The winner(s) will be announced in the fall.

Sue Robertson encouraged members to save items for the ACL silent auction. She wants to hear that "Virginia initiated it."

Executive committee announcements

Newsletter editor, Lindsey Herndon, was not present, but requested announcements of awards, retirements, etc. for the newsletter. Individuals may self report or report on others in their schools or communities. These can be recent, but following next spring, announcements will be made only for the particular year.

Executive committee changes were also announced.

Max Meador, treasurer since 2002, was honored with an award, which was accepted by Fred Franko who will take it to him. Meador, who is recovering from surgery, is stepping down as a member of executive committee.

The visionary Mark Keith was also recognized for creating the website in 1996 before the Internet was a reality. Keith served as website editor until last fall.

Tournaments, Contests, Awards Classical Essay - Patrick Bradley

Patrick thanked the judges for their service: Charlaine Lunsford and Kevin Gushman (1st year); Alana Lukes (2nd year); Andrea Weiskopf (3rd year); and Bryce Walker, Kevin Gushman, and Eric Casey (Advanced). He noted that the number of entries was down this year, and suggested this may have been a result of the weather. The names of first through third place winners were read.

CAV Latin Tournament - Kevin Jefferson (1st year)

Kevin thanked those who made the tournament possible.

Test writers: Bri McHugh, Nadia Ghosheh, Scott Holcomb, Alex

Cleveland, Susan Schearer, Ken Andino, Emily Lewis

Proofreaders: Ben Dyke, Rena Glavas, Nadia Ghosheh, Sally Davis

Chief Proofreader: Alana Lukes

Copying: Howard Chang, Flint Hill Copy Center

Awards: Kathy Smerke, Nadia Ghosheh

Registrar: Kathy Smerke

Guidance: Margaret Hicks, Ian Hochberg, Susan Schearer Grading (scantron): Emily Lewis & Herndon High School

Grading (translation): Jon Mikalson, graduate and undergraduate

students at UVa

n.b. This information was supplied by Mr. Jefferson to the secretary after the meeting and may exceed the announced gratitude.

634 students from 27 schools participated in the 2014 tournament. Schools included 15 in the alpha division, 10 in the beta, and 2 in the gamma. number of students from each division. The official award document listing names of winners was copied and distributed at the meeting. Mr. Jefferson asked all to spread the word about the CAV tournament and noted that there are innovations in progress for next year. Jefferson himself is moving to Boulder, Colorado, for graduate school, but will stay on as Tournament chair.

Arthur Stocker Essay Contest

In the absence of John Miller, Fred Franko announced the winners. John Miller graded them all himself. This year six schools and 41 students participated in the contest.

Lurlene Todd Award

There was no winner for Lurlene W. Todd Teacher of the Year award as there were no nominations.

Angela P. Lloyd Book Award

Howard Chang announced this award, which was decided upon by a committee of himself, Alana Lukes, and Lisa Auanger. The award went to Donna Justice Dollings, a National Board Certified Teacher who has been teaching 29 years. Donna has attended nine NJCL conventions, 28 VJCL Conventions, and served as chair of VJCL. In fact, she was aptly described as "one of Rushmore heads of VJCL...statuesque and Olympian." Dollings was also awarded for her work in Foreign Language teaching in 2000. Recently she has been involved in archaeological work. Donna said a few words to the audience, noting her great love of books and praising the Classical community for being generous and supportive.

Wayne W. Wray Student Scholarship

Donald Brewster announced the winner of this award. He explained that the selection of the student begins in mid-March snow doldrums as resumes of amazing high school students arrive. There were several outstanding nominees.

This year's winner, Rachel Elissa Dubit, is from Rockbridge County High School, and was nominated by Patrick Bradley. Rachel, who has also started a bee business and studied Chinese and Italian on her own. Rachel was currently in Viterbo, Italy with School Year Abroad, so was not present to accept her award. Rachel has decided to become a Latin teacher and hopes to inspire future students. She will be a student at William & Mary next year.

Donald is working on making submissions all electronic by next year, and hoping to maybe cut out things like school transcript.

Jane Harriman Hall Award for Outstanding CAV Service

Andy Becker announced that this year Mark Keith was the recipient of this award. Mark has served the organization seventeen years as web editor, and was pivotal in ushering group into digital age. Mark also has played a key role in the organization as member over the years. He also has been a leader and salutary voice in NLE, VJCL, NJCL, FLAVA, ACL, and CAMWS. Jane Hall, herself, was present as Mark accepted the awards as well, climbing the steps to the stage.

Change of Officers

Margaret thanked the group for the honor to be president, and reflected on how much she has learned. She noted it was intimidating to take on role at first, with so many impressive people in organization. She ended her term noting Virginia's strength in relationships in the field of Classics. Fred Franko, her successor, noted it will be a tough act of leadership to follow and promised to do his best.

Nominations were submitted by Margaret Hicks: Fred Franko - President Mark Keith – Vice President Lisa Auanger - Secretary Liane Houghtalin – Treasurer

Nominations were approved by election.