Honor your students and colleagues

The CAV is honored to offer several awards, recognitions, and even a grant and scholarship to its members and students of members. All awards and scholarship have the deadline of April 1st, 2022. The grant has a fall deadline of August 31st, 2021.

Teacher of the Year

The CAV is proud to announce The Lurlene W. Todd Teacher of the Year Award to recognize our outstanding Latin teachers and professors in Virginia. This award is made possible through the generous donation of Wayne W. Wray in honor of his own Latin teacher, Lurlene W. Todd.

Book Award

The Angela P. Lloyd Book Award is awarded to a secondary teacher in Virginia that shows commitment and excellence in teaching. Any colleague, supervisor, student or former student, parent of a student of a CAV member, or CAV member can nominate a CAV member for this award.

Student Scholarship

The Classical Association of Virginia is pleased to offer this scholarship for Latin students thanks to a generous gift from Wayne W. Wray. This $500.00 scholarship will be awarded to the student who most exemplifies the principle on which our organization was founded almost a century ago:  a love of and the promotion of the classics.

Professional Grant

The CAV will award up to $500 each year, either to one individual or to separate individuals, to help defray the costs of participating in professional development activities such as FLAVA, ACL, CAMWS, ACTFL, SCS/AIA or study abroad.