Eligibility & Award

All teachers and professors of Classics who have taught successfully for at least three years in a public or private school (elementary, middle, high, college, or university) in Virginia and who are members in good standing of the Classical Association of Virginia by November 1 of the academic year of the award competition.

The criteria for this award are similar to those used for the Society for Classical Studies Awards for Excellence in Teaching at the Pre-collegiate Level. Applications are evaluated on at least four of the following factors:

  • Evidence of the success, size, and growth of the teacher’s program;
  • Examples of innovative and creative classroom activity;
  • Evidence of improved student learning;
  • Significant numbers of students who continue their study of the classics at the next available level;
  • Examples of outreach and promotion of the classics inside and outside of the teacher’s institution;
  • Evidence of the teacher’s professional service and profession development;
  • Student success in contests and competitions, especially those offered by the CAV;
  • Examples of student travel and field trips which enhance learning and promote the program;

The winner will be notified that they have won and invited to attend the Spring CAV meeting where a plaque and check is presented. If the winner is unable to attend, a CAV officer or representative should present the award at the School or some other public venue, such as a school board meeting. The winner’s school, school district, and local paper will be notified of the award.

Past Recipients

2024: Not awarded

2022: Melanie Stowell , Arlington County Schools

2021: Kate Tiffany , Fairfax County Schools

2020: Christinia A. Salowey , Hollins University

2019: Bartolo Natoli , Randolph-Macon College

2018: Susan Schearer , Classical Cottage School

2017: Laura Joyner , Lylburn Middle School

2016: not awarded

2015: Eric Casey , Sweet Briar College

2014: not awarded

2013: Patrick Bradley , Rockbridge County High School

2012: Howard Chang , Flint Hill School

2011: Ian Hochberg , St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes School

2010: Katherine “Sue” Robertson , Midlothian High School

2009: not awarded

2008: Amy R. Cohen , Randolph College

2007: Andrew Becker , Virginia Tech

2006: Deborah Mason , Altavista High School

2005: Gregory Daugherty , Randolph-Macon College

Send nominations to:

Classical Association of Virginia    

Chair, Lurlene W. Todd Committee

E-mail: cavclassics@gmail.com